10.115. PTSD Checklist: DSM-5 Version (PCL-5)

For post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD).

10.115.1. History and guide

  • The PCL for the DSM-IV has three versions, PCL-M (military), PCL-C (civilian), and PCL-S (specific). See the PCL-C.

  • The PCL-5 (for DSM-5) is most similar to the PCL-S (specific), but the scoring system is different. There are no corresponding PCL-M or PCL-C versions of the PCL-5.


  • Weathers, F.W., Litz, B.T., Keane, T.M., Palmieri, P.A., Marx, B.P., & Schnurr, P.P. (2013). The PTSD Checklist for DSM-5 (PCL-5). Scale available from the National Center for PTSD at https://www.ptsd.va.gov.

  • Blevins, C.A., Weathers, F.W., Davis, M.T., Witte, T.K., Domino, J.L. The Posttraumatic Stress Disorder Checklist for DSM-5 (PCL-5): Development and Initial Psychometric Evaluation. J. Trauma Stress. 28: 498-498, 2015. PMID 26606250.

10.115.2. Source

10.115.3. Intellectual property rights